Forget film…love tv

Okay, let me begin by saying the title of this blog does not really reflect my true thoughts on this subject – more than anything, I just like the way the words flow! There is also the fact that I would never actually go so far as to encourage anyone to ignore the absolutely brilliant films that have been made for us; the stomach-ripping comedies, the gripping dramas, the historical epics, the believable science fictions. The list goes on and on. In the last 100 years of film, we really have been treated to some beauties, to the point where to date I am still unable to list my top ten films. It’s simply not possible and if anyone out there feels they can, it means they’ve not watched enough films!

So why the reason for my blog title, if that’s not what I mean to say? What I mean to say is something along these lines. Film has enjoyed a golden age, where blockbusters and independent movies alike have both enjoyed huge successes and international acclaim.

But within the last ten years and I would even go so far as to say within the last five years, tv dramas and films have made an amazing comeback. The USA in particular seem to be doing an amazing job at churning out good dramas one after the next. Keep them coming please.

I cannot tell you the last time I watched a feature length film but I can give you a rundown of some of the best tv dramas and series in recent years.

I’ve always felt that tv dramas have been fairly inconsistent in the past. You’d get gems like Band of Gold and Cracker and then the let’s-not-talk-about’s such as Echo Beach (What? Exactly!) and more recently Hustle (sorry but it is really bad.) and the Hunted, which had so much potential but did not use any of it. There are so many more but I don’t want to waste time listing them, as I’m here to celebrate the good.

Our tv does not get switched on during the summers bar the occasional Cbeebies for the beebie. But when winter rolls in, we’re downloaded to the hilt and ready to roll.

From me to you

My humble opinion on the viewing staples that you should not miss.

The Sopranos

The Wire

The Fall

The Walking Dead

The Returned

Breaking Bad

Game of Thrones

Mad Men

Boardwalk Empire

Curb Your Enthusiasm (I know its not a drama but I just had to squeeze it in on the end because life wouldn’t be the same without it)

And do tell me if there is anything I should be watching! Or cast a vote in my poll to decide an unofficial  winner.

Leave a comment